Twitter for Libraries

One of the many hats that I wear is serving as the Communications Officer for my local Community Association. Every day I check our Association’s email account, monitor our blog, and check our social media profiles on Facebook and Twitter. I’m getting better with blogging on a regular basis, but I haven’t quite gotten used to Twitter yet.

When checking Twitter this morning I saw a post from Twitter by the Twitter for Business @TwitterBusiness account providing tips for businesses hoping to use Twitter to promote their services.

Their five tips for businesses were:

  1. Emphasize urgency
  2. Discount by the %
  3. People love “free”
  4. Avoid distracting hashtags
  5. Ask a question

You can read the full article at this link: https://business.twitter.com/en/blog/5-tips-writing-effective-Twitter-Ads-copy.html?utm_source=tw&utm_medium=ptw&utm_campaign=Q22017&utm_content=Copy%20tips

Some of these tips are helpful for non-retail Tweeters, but given the emphasis on sales in this list I wondered what advice was available for librarians and others in non-profits who are focused on community building rather than sales.

Being a librarian and not a Twitter expert myself, I knew that someone in libraryland would have already put together a list of tips for libraries on Twitter, so instead of re-inventing the wheel, I’m posting some of these links here:

Featured image by Andreas Eldh

Leave a Reply

